About Lifelong Learning - Contact Us - DonateFree-Ed.Net Home   Bookmark and Share

Lesson 1. Introduction


a. The nervous system can be thought of as having three major subdivisions:

(1) The central nervous system (CNS), which consists of the brain and spinal cord.
(2) The peripheral nervous system (PNS), which consists of those nerves which pass from the CNS to the periphery of the body (the cranial nerves and the spinal nerves).
(3) The autonomic nervous system (ANS), also referred to as the "involuntary" nervous system. Outside of the CNS and considered to be part of the PNS, the autonomic nervous system is sufficiently different in function to be studied as a separate division. Body functions that are not under conscious control are regulated by the ANS.

b. Neurological conditions are disorders that involve some portion of the nervous system. These conditions may result from infections, deranged physiology, or trauma. In all cases, the normal function of the nervous system has been altered, and the patient is not in control of the alterations.

David L. Heiserman, Editor

Copyright   SweetHaven Publishing Services
All Rights Reserved

Revised: June 06, 2015