About Lifelong Learning - Contact Us - DonateFree-Ed.Net Home   Bookmark and Share


Major content provider: U.S. National Cancer Institute

anatomy01.jpg (2812 bytes)

Digestive System: Unit Review


Here is what we have learned from this unit:

  • The digestive tract includes the digestive tract and its accessory organs, which process food into molecules that can be absorbed and utilized by the cells of the body.
  • Food undergoes three types of processes in the body: digestion, absorption, and elimination.
  • The digestive system prepares nutrients for utilization by body cells through six activities, or functions: ingestion, mechanical digestion, chemical digestion, movements, absorption, and elimination.
  • The wall of the digestive tract has four layers or tunics: mucosa, submucosa, muscular layer, and serous layer or serosa.
  • Regions of the digestive system can be divided into two main parts: alimentary tract and accessory organs.
  • The alimentary tract of the digestive system is composed of the mouth, pharynx, esophagus, stomach, small and large intestines, rectum and anus.
  • Associated with the alimentary tract are the following accessory organs: salivary glands, liver, gallbladder, and pancreas.


David L. Heiserman, Editor

Copyright   SweetHaven Publishing Services
All Rights Reserved

Revised: June 06, 2015